EisenVault Tech Support FAQs

Keep data secure and remove access from employees who leave the company.

Delete a user from your EisenVault DMS.

This page is for EisenVault administrators who manage user accounts for a company, school, or other group, or for Cloud Identity administrators.

When a user leaves your organization, you can delete their account. As an administrator, you can transfer files and data owned by the user. Files that the user doesn’t own are not affected.

Delete a user account to remove the user from the system.
Note: Deleting a user removes their permissions from the repository. If you create a user with the same user id as a previously deleted user, the new user gets access to the original user’s files but not their permissions as they are removed upon user deletion.
  1. Click Admin Tools, and then click Users.

    You see the User Search page.

  2. Search for a user, and then select the user.
  3. On the User Profile page, click Delete User.

    A message prompts you to confirm that you want to delete the user account.

  4. Click Delete.

If you delete a user

If you delete a user, they can’t access any of your organization’s EisenVault DMS services and the following data is deleted:

  • EisenVault data — All files and folders can accessible by admin only after deleting the user.
  • Groups — The user doesn’t have access to the group.
  • Document ownership – After deleting the user, all the documents ownership will move to the department manager by default.

Disable a user

Use this information to disable a user account.
You perform this task as part of editing a user account.
  1. Click Admin Tools, and then click Users.

    You see the User Search page.

  2. Search for a user, and then select the user.
  3. On the User Profile page, click Edit User.

    You see the Edit User page.

  4. Click Disable Account.

    A checkmark indicates the account for the current user will be disabled.

  5. Click Save Changes.

    On the User Profile page, the Account Status shows as Disabled. On the User Search page, the user displays in the search results list with a red dot, indicating the account is disabled.